Curriculmum vitae

Sydney Benjamin Gales Director of research CNRS (emeritus)
Professor « extraordinary » of Physics University of Groningen (The Netherlands) 1997-2009
Scientific Director ELI-NP (IFIN-HH, Bucarest Romania) 2013-2016

Education Degrees & Diplomas

  • 1968 Master degree in Physics, Paris-Sud University (Orsay, France)
  • 1970 Thesis of Specialty, Paris-Sud University (Orsay, France)
  • 1976 PhD in Physics and Habilitation (Doctorat d’etat) Paris-Sud University (Orsay, France)

Professional Experience: Career & Appointments

  • 1969 Assistant Professor, Orsay University (France)
  • 1970 Research fellow at the Institute of Nuclear Physics Orsay (IPNO), Center of National Scientific Research (CNRS, France)
  • 1970 – 1972 « Research Associate” Laboratory of Nuclear Physics, University of Montreal (Canada).
  • 1972 Research staff member at IPNO, CNRS (France)
  • 1978 – 1980 Post-doctoral fellow at Michigan State University (USA)
  • 1980 – 1985 Principal investigator of International Collaborations and stays in the main center of Nuclear Physics around the world: MSU& IUCF (USA), JINR-Dubna Russia), RCNP Osaka& INS Tokyo (Japan)
  • 1986 – 1994 Project leader of AGOR and member of the board of directors of the project. AGOR (Accelerator Groningen -ORsay) Collaboration CNRS (France)-FOM (Netherlands). Design and construction of the first European super-conducting cyclotron. Budget (without salaries) 18M€. Personnel: 50 physicists, engineers, techs
  • 1993 Director of Research CNRS (“classe exceptionelle”)
  • 1992-2009 Professor « extraordinary » of Physics at the University of Groningen (The Netherlands) Chairman of NuPECC (Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee). Expert committee of European Science Foundation (15 countries). Coordinate and impulse the collaborations and projects of Nuclear Physics and its applications within Europe.
  • Member of the OECD working group on large-scale facilities and perspectives of subatomic physics
  • 1994-2002 Director of the Institute of Nuclear Physics Orsay. 450 staff members (110 physicists, 280 Eng., Tech, Admin, 60 PhD students and foreign visitors). Budget: 20M€
  • Member Board of directors, National Institute of Particle and Nuclear Physics (IN2P3/CNRS, France)
  • Member Board of Directors GANIL
  • Chair of scientific council of GANIL (1998-2001)
  • Member Board of directors of the European Center for Theoretical Physics (ECT*, Trento, Italy, 1997-2000)
  • 2003 -2005 Chair of the French Scientific Council for particle, nuclear and astroparticle Physics (IN2P3/CNRS, FRANCE)
  • Chair of the steering committee for Scientific and Technical Issues (STI) of the International Facility FAIR at GSI
  • Chair of the review committee of RIKEN – RIB Facility (Japan)
  • Member of the PAC and of the scientific advisory committee of KVI (Groningen, the Netherlands)
  • Member of the International Steering Committee of SPIRAL II at GANIL
  • Member of the ESFRI Physics group (2002 – 2006)
  • April-Nov 2004 Chair of the national workshop and of the organizing committee “Prospective of Nuclear and High Energy Physics for the next Ten years 2005-2015 (IN2P3-CNRS-DSM-CEA, FRANCE)
  • November 2004 – Jan 2012 Deputy Director at IN2P3/CNRS
  • July 1st 2005 – Dec 2011 Director of Large Scale Heavy Ion Accelerator Facility GANIL (Caen, France). Staff 300 members, 500 international users/y, 22M€, plus SPIRAL2 project
  • Member of IUPAP C12 Committee
  • Member of the OECD working group on NP
  • Coordinator of ERANET- NuPNET funded project under EU FP7 program: A European Nuclear Physics Funding Agencies coordination committee (18 European Funding Institutions, 14 Countries)
  • Member of the PAC and Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee of KVI (Groningen, the Netherlands)
  • Chair of the review committee of Nishina Centre for Accelerator Base science RIKEN (Japan)
  • Member of the RIKEN Advisory Committee (Japan)
  • Member of the Scientific Council of JINR Dubna (Russia)
  • Member of International Advisory Committee of the IPAN Krakow (Poland)
  • Member of International Advisory Committee for the National Laboratory of the Heavy Ion Research, Facility in Lanzhou (HIRFL–IAC), China
  • March 2012 – April 2013 Coordinator of International in-kind contributions for the FAIR Project (GSI-De)
  • April 2013 – Today
    • Scientific Director of the High Power Laser and Gammas Large Scale Facility project, ELI- NP (Bucharest, Romania) until July 2016
    • Member of the ELI- Coordination Committee Board until July 2016
    • Scientific Advisor to the Director IFIN-HH/ELI-NP(until 2019)
    • and  Member of the International Scientific Advisory Board of ELI-NP project
    • Member of International Advisory Committee of the Chinese Academy of Sciences on site assessment committee for Nuclear Physics.
    • Member of the S-FRS@NUSTAR-FAIR management board (Germany)
    • Member of the Scientific Council of JINR Dubna (Russia)
    • Member of the Physics and Engineering section of Academia Europeae until 2019
    • Chair of the review committee of Nishina Centre for Accelerator Base science RIKEN (Japan)
    • Member of the International Advisory Committee of Korean Radioactive Ion Science Project (Korea)
    • Member of the EPS Advisory Board on Science Policies
    • Member of the IZEST collaboration
    • March 2017- Today
    • Chair Scientific and Technical review committee of iThemba LABS (Cape Town, South Africa)
    • Chair G-PAC (General Program Advisory Committee) FAIR-GSI (Germany)
    • Nominated Prof. Judah Eisenberg – Annual Memorial Lecture 2019 School of Physics and Astronomy Tel Aviv University (Israel)
    • Member IBS Director nomination review committee (IBS, South Korea)

Others appointments

  • Member of the editorial board of « Nuclear Instruments &Methods » (Elsevier) (1994-2002)
  • Member of the Editorial Board of Physical review C (2003-2005)
  • Editor of « Nuclear Physics News International » (1993-1998)
  • Referee for Physical Review & Review Letters (APS), Physics Letters & Nuclear Physics (Elsevier) 1980- to day
  • Chairman and/or board member of more than 100 scientific organization committees of International Conferences, School or Workshops (1998-2014)
  • Judge in the Jury for the “International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences” (IADAS), Webby Awards”, New York (1999-to day)
  • Member Editorial Board “Progress of theoretical and experimental Physics journal”, Japan Physical society


More than 250 publications in scientific journals with referees
More than 150 invited papers and lectures in International Conferences, Workshops and Schools
More than 150 seminars and colloquiums in institutes and Universities worldwide
More than 20 chapters in published books as invited author

Honors and Awards

  • 1978 Bronze Medal CNRS (France)
  • 1995 Knight of the Queen (The Netherlands)
  • 1997 Chevalier dans l’Ordre National du Mérite (France)
  • 2009 Flerov Prize (JINR Dubna, Russia)
  • 2012 Elected member Academia Europaea (MAE)
  • 2014 Grand Prix Felix Robin French Physical Society (SFP, Fr)
  • 2015 Chevalier dans l’Ordre National de la Légion d’Honneur (France)
  • 2016 Fellow European Physical Society
  • 2019 Nominated Professor J.Einseinberg Annual Memorial Annual Lecturer (Tel Aviv University ,Mai 2019)